Image default

Lyle Foster makes timely come back for Hugo Broos


Following their impressive podium finish at the recent TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations in Cote d’Ivoire, a 23-Man Bafana Bafana squad has officially been announced by head coach, Hugo Broos.

The former AFCON champions take on the high-flying Super Eagles in Uyo on Friday, 07 June before returning home to face neighbours Zimbabwe on Tuesday, 11 June in a bid to make a return to the global showpiece since last making an appearance at hosts in 2010.

Broos’ announcement was highlighted by the huge boost of the return of England-based forward, Lyle Foster who missed out on the trip to Cote d’Ivoire.

Foster adds on to the fierce frontline led by Al Ahly talisman, Percy Tau who recently acquired his third TotalEnergies CAF Champions League gold medal after the Egyptian giants recorded their 12th title.

The squad comprises largely of the experienced Mamelodi Sundowns players who were key in Bafana Bafana’s podium finish in Cote d’Ivoire earlier this year. This includes the in-form Ronwen Williams, Themba Zwane, Khuliso Mudau, Teboho Mokoena and Aubrey Modiba.

Friday’s clash against the Super Eagles will be another grudge match for the South Africans who bowed out of the TotalEnergies AFCON at the hands of the Super Eagles in Bouake earlier in the year.

Bafana Bafana’s match in Bloemfontein against Zimbabwe will also be the first time the 1996 African champions play at the FIFA World Cup venue where they beat France 2-1 in their last group match 14 years ago.

Bafana Bafana 23-Man squad:


Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)


Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns). Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyabonga Ngezana (FCSB, Romania), Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jayden Adams (Stellenbosch FC), Bathusi Aubaas (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphephelo Sithole (Tondela, Portugal)


Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)Oswin Appollis (Polokwane City)Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates)Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC)Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune United)Lyle Foster (Burnley, England)Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt)Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates)

Related posts

Vipers, SC Villa settle for a point at Wankulukuku


Rayon Sport dethrone AS Kigali as Women’s Champions


Obua’s Tax Collectors return to winning ways


Leave a Comment