Image default

Tanzania to play against Bulgaria in newly introduced FIFA Series


Tanzania will be the only team from the CECAFA Zone that will play in the newly introduced 2024 FIFA Series.

The Taifa Stars will battle a team from the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) Bulgaria and Mongolia from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) during the tournament slated for March 22-25th, 2024 in Baku, Azerbaijan.

The 2024 FIFA Series will be the first edition of the FIFA Series, an invitational association football competition promoted by FIFA that features friendly matches between national teams from different confederations.

The inaugural edition will feature five different series, taking place across four host countries during the FIFA match window from 18 to 26 March 2024. The other African teams that will take part in the different FIFA Series include; Algeria, South Africa, Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea and the Central African Republic.

Tanzania will open their campaign against Bulgaria on March 22nd at the Dalga Arena, the same day hosts Azerbaijan face Mongolia. The Taifa Stars will return to action on March 25th, 2024 against Mongolia, while Azerbaijan face Mongolia.

The FIFA Series, a friendly competition was first announced as a FIFA initiative in December 2022 under the name FIFA World Series, and later confirmed by FIFA President Gianni Infantino on 16 March 2023 following his re-election as President during the 73rd FIFA Congress in Kigali, Rwanda.

Meanwhile, the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) has confirmed that the Kenya national team, Harambee Stars will feature in a 4-Nations tournament that will also involve hosts Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe to take during the upcoming FIFA international window between March 18-26th in Lilongwe.

Related posts



UPDF FC embark on fight for survival


A lot to play for in FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers


Leave a Comment